h1

What would you do, if I sang out of key?

September 16, 2008

So I was raiding last night, failing over and over again at Vistrix and getting extremely bored when I realized, “Why, I am going back to the same old thing I left!” I gave up on Everquest because raiding was starting to feel more like a job and less like a game. I mean, the fight is fun (assuming you win) but I’m not sure if I’m cut out for raiding in AoC yet, or raiding in any game. I enjoy being the sturdy dude that everyone relies on, and that’s what I remember about EQ.

My Shadowknight Thules in the world of EQ was a column of armored ogre that could take out anything dished to him. I would log on and feel almost ‘wanted’ in any group I could imagine. I led raids, or provided assistance to the raid leaders in accomplishing the goal of achieving “teh l00tz” by the end of the night. Humorously enough, raiding was more about providing others with a good time than making sure I was entertained. Not like I wouldn’t be able to do that in AoC, but last night I just couldn’t take it anymore. My friend called me, and instead of afk’ing I simply Alt+F4 and closed vent out.

 

I didn’t want to anymore, I couldn’t do it, and it’s been what… 2 weeks of raiding?

 

I think I need to take a step back, and work on this project instead of dividing my interests (or lack thereof). From here on in I’m going to focus on finishing this Wiimote for AoC thing, and then port it to WoW if at all possible. A friend of mine wants to casually level in WoW so we’re going to use that ‘Recruit a Friend’ program that everyone is talking about.

 

Now….how do I change my blog title? Hah!

 

No, just kidding yall. I’m still going to have AoC installed, but I am going to only be using my program for soloing and grouping at first. Taking such a complex form of interaction with my computer, and just plopping it on top of the hectic attitude of raiding is not going to go over well at all. Besides causing wipes, experimenting with this form of control during raids is not going to accomplish much.

 

Let’s start out with simple things, like jogging around Hyborea (or Azeroth)! Easy enough!

 

I have a busy afternoon today so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to write anything or progress in my project. Although there is some good news: I ordered rechargeable batteries for my 3 Wiimotes I’m using, I also ordered a Wiimote screwdriver (you need a 3 pronged screwdriver to take apart your Wiimote), and my wooden Gladius came in the mail today! It looks like putting the Wiimote chip + buttons into the handle will be a daunting task involving some creative woodworking. Maybe it’s something I can start this weekend if I get the tool before then.

 

So that’s my latest, folks. I will leave you with some interesting links though!

 

http://www.wiipcscripts.fr.nf/

WindoWii Scripts Creator: GUI for simple Wiimote movements converted into keyboard/mouse commands.

 

http://www.instructables.com/id/WII-sword/

This made me lol. It’s good to see someone that is as bonkers as me. But I personally think that light-sabers are nerdier.

 

http://idav.ucdavis.edu/~okreylos/ResDev/Wiimote/

This guys project is much more extensive, but the results are amazing.

 

And with that, I’m out! Have a great Tuesday 😉

Leave a Reply

